FR

Our organization

BUMI is a non-profit organization (NPO) active mainly in the province of the Upper-Katanga – more precisely on the town of Lubumbashi. As required, its activities may also affect other regions of the DRC.

The BUMI association in DRC consists of a General Assembly (all members) and of a board of directors. A management committee, including the project coordinator, the Head of Resource BUMI activities and the person in charge Admin & Finance, meets monthly.

BUMI is also recognized as an asbl in Belgium and in France. Approximately twenty members lead activities of awareness and fundraising to support our humanitarian efforts in the DRC. They also relay to our European partners and donors.

In the field, a team of educators, teachers, health staff, technical staff, volunteers and site supervisors work in order to achieve the various objectives.

KEY MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS

OUR FIELD TEAMS

OUR SPECIAL TEACHERS

The work of the special teachers is essential to the fulfillment of our mission. The teacher has a psychoeducational profile as well as practical knowledge of the right of the child and of the administrative procedure. Depending on his expertise, he performs street work, field research and family mediation, and he is working hand in hand with the social services and the juvenile court. The special teacher is also the person of trust for the first-mover child. His work includes the listening and psychological accompaniment of the child. Finally, our educators act as a role model for children and as a parental authority with the school and among external actors.

OUR MOM EDUCATORS

The concept of Mom-Educator goes hand-in-hand with the creation of family houses in Children’s Villages. They are women, often widows or single moms, ready to come live on-site and to take into care about ten children, like they would be hers. As well as the usual household tasks of a stay-at-home mother, the Mom-Educator brings to each child the love, the affection, and the learning of good manners and home life, essential components of his personal development.

OUR MEDICAL STAFF

Given the significant number of children in our two sites, a nurse is needed full time to ensure the medical follow-up of the children, particularly those who undertake a treatment or need special attention (babies, disabled children, epileptic children, children with sickle cell disease or children suffering from AIDS). The nurse is also in charge of home hygiene control and of food. At the reception centre of Kamalondo, our orphaned children are supported through a partnership with the Lisungi Mutual Company which allows 40 children to benefit from basic care in reference hospitals. In the Children’s Village of Karavia, a team of volunteer doctors take turns to ensure weekly consultations. Ultimately, the health centre under construction should accommodate a complete medical team for the care of children and of the surrounding community.

OUR TEAMS OF TEACHERS AND TRAINERS

In our two schools of Kamalondo and Karavia, a teaching staff takes care of the management and school training of the youth. Each school is placed under the supervision of a principal who also plays the role of an educator with the neighbouring communities in order to bring more children from disadvantaged backgrounds to attend school. Teachers also oversee the catch-up and school support sessions that we organize for children with intellectual disabilities.

THE AGROPASTORALE TEAM

An agronomist, two agricultural workers and two cowherds currently work in this program on the sites of Karavia and Kakila. They ensure the quality of crops and the welfare of farm animals. In addition, they ensure the practical training of the children in the different activities: breeding and slaughter, truck farming and fish farming. They are placed under the supervision of the Assistant Coordinator who also works at the marketing of products with our local customers.

Notre Organisation

BUMI est une association sans but lucratif (ASBL) active principalement dans la province du Haut-Katanga – plus précisément sur la ville de Lubumbashi. En fonction des besoins, ses activités peuvent également toucher d’autres régions de la RDC.

L’Association BUMI en RDC est constituée d’une Assemblée Générale (tous les membres) et d’un Conseil d’Administration. Un comité de gestion, composé entre autres du coordinateur de projets, du responsable des activités BUMI Ressources et du responsable Admin & Finance se réunit mensuellement.

BUMI est également reconnue en tant qu’asbl en Belgique et en France. Une vingtaine de membres y mènent des activités de sensibilisation et de récolte de fonds visant à soutenir nos actions en RDC. Ils effectuent également le relai auprès de nos partenaires et bailleurs de fonds européens.

Sur le terrain, une équipe d’éducateurs, enseignants, personnel de santé, agents techniques, bénévoles et superviseurs de site travaillent dans le but de mener à bien les différents objectifs.

MEMBRES CLÉS DU C.A.

NOS ÉQUIPES TERRAIN

NOS EDUCATEURS SPÉCIALISÉS

Le travail des éducateurs spécialisés est essentiel pour mener à bien notre mission. L’éducateur a un profil psychopédagogique ainsi que de bonnes connaissances du droit de l’enfant et des procédures administratives. Selon sa spécialisation, il effectue le travail de rue, les recherches de terrain et la médiation familiale, travaille main dans la main avec les services sociaux et le tribunal pour enfants. L’éducateur spécialisé est également la personne de confiance pour l’enfant premier arrivant. Il travaille sur l’écoute et l’accompagnement psychologique de l’enfant. Enfin nos éducateurs jouent un rôle de modèle pour les enfants et d’autorité parentale auprès de l’école et des acteurs externes.

NOS MAMANS ÉDUCATRICES

Le concept de Maman-Educatrice va de pair avec la mise en place de maisons familiales. Il s’agit de femmes, souvent veuves ou mères célibataires, prêtes à venir vivre sur site et à prendre en charge une dizaine d’enfants, comme si c’étaient les siens. Au-delà des tâches ménagères classiques pour une mère au foyer, la Maman Educatrice apporte à chaque enfant l’amour, l’affection, ainsi que l’apprentissage des bonnes manières et de la vie en famille, éléments nécessaire à son développement personnel.

NOTRE PERSONNEL MÉDICAL

Vu le nombre important d’enfants sur nos deux sites, un infirmier temps plein est nécessaire à assurer le suivi médical des enfants, en particulier ceux qui suivent un traitement ou nécessitent une attention particulière (bébés, enfants handicapés, enfants épileptiques, drépanocytaires ou VIH-positifs). L’infirmier est également en charge du contrôle de l’hygiène des maisons et de l’alimentation. Au centre d’accueil de Kamalondo, nos enfants sont pris en charge grâce à un partenariat avec la Mutuelle Lisungi qui permet à 40 enfants de bénéficier des soins de base dans les hôpitaux de référence. Au sein du village d’enfants de Karavia, une équipe de médecins bénévoles se relaient pour assurer des consultations hebdomadaires. A terme, le centre de santé en cours de construction devrait accueillir une équipe médicale complète pour la prise en charge des enfants et de la communauté environnante.

NOS ÉQUIPES D’ENSEIGNANTS ET FORMATEURS

Au sein de nos deux écoles de Kamalondo et Karavia, une équipe pédagogique s’occupe de l’encadrement et de la formation scolaire des jeunes. Chaque école est placée sous la supervision d’un Directeur d’école qui joue également le rôle de sensibilisateur auprès des communautés avoisinantes afin d’amener plus d’enfants des milieux défavorisés à fréquenter l’école. Le personnel enseignant supervise aussi les séances de rattrapage et soutien scolaire que nous organisons pour les enfants qui ont des retards.

L'ÉQUIPE AGROPASTORALE

Un agronome, deux ouvriers agricoles et 2 bouviers travaillent actuellement au sein de ce programme sur les sites de Karavia et Kakila. Ils veillent à la qualité des cultures et au bien-être des animaux de la ferme. Par ailleurs, ils assurent la formation pratique des jeunes dans les différentes activités : élevage et abattage, maraîchage et pisciculture. Ils sont placés sous la supervision du Coordinateur Adjoint qui travaille également à la commercialisation des produits auprès de nos clients locaux.