FR

Our reception centre

THE KAMALONDO HOUSE RECEPTION CENTRE

AN INITIAL RECEPTION CENTER

Located in the heart of the Katangese capital, the BUMI Kamalondo House welcomes all year long orphaned, abandoned or in distress children.

If the first concern is to feed and care for the newcomer, it is also necessary to launch immediately the investigation procedure which will determine if he is actually alone or if he still has family.

At the end of these steps, the children “non-reinstatable“ in a family are directed to the Karavia Children’s Village when the others are replaced in their families. In the second scenario, BUMI ensures the implementation of the most serene reintegration possible, through mediation and a post-reintegration support.

A TRANSIT CENTRE

The investigation sometimes takes many months, during which the children are housed in the Kamalondo House Reception Center which actually has thirty-five places. A dormitory, a refectory, sanitary facilities and a playground are the transitional place of life of those little ones who then evolve under the caring eyes of educators who feed, cure and educate them.

A SCHOOL

Next to the transit centre, it seemed indispensable to us to open an educational institution, so that the “pending” children can start or continue their education. The school also welcomes almost 200 externs coming from the poorest families of the Katangese capital for a reduced registration fee. Classes range from primary to secondary levels.

Notre Maison d’Accueil

LA MAISON D’ACCUEIL DE KAMALONDO

UN CENTRE DE PREMIER ACCEUIL

Situé au cœur de la capitale katangaise, la maison BUMI de Kamalondo accueille tout au long de l’année des enfants orphelins, abandonnés ou en détresse.

Si la première préoccupation est de nourrir et de soigner le nouvel arrivé, il s’agit également de lancer immédiatement la procédure d’enquête qui permettra d’établir si celui-ci est effectivement isolé ou s’il a encore de la famille.

Au terme de ces démarches, les enfants « non-réinserables » en famille sont dirigés vers notre Village d’Enfants de Karavia alors que les autres sont replacés dans leurs familles. Dans ce second cas, BUMI veille à mettre en œuvre la réinsertion la plus sereine possible, par le biais de médiations et par un accompagnement post-réinsertion.

UN CENTRE DE TRANSIT

L’enquête prend parfois plusieurs mois, pendant lesquels les enfants sont logés dans la maison d’accueil de Kamalondo qui compte actuellement trente-cinq places. Un dortoir, un réfectoire, des sanitaires et une cour de récréation sont le lieu de vie transitoire de ces petits qui évoluent alors sous les yeux bienveillants d’éducateurs chargés de les nourrir, de les soigner et de les éduquer.

UNE ÉCOLE

À côté du centre de transit, il nous a semblé indispensable d’ouvrir un établissement scolaire, afin que les enfants « en attente » puissent entamer ou poursuivre leur scolarité. L’école accueille également près de 200 externes provenant des familles les plus pauvres de la capitale katangaise, moyennant des frais d’inscription réduis. Les classes vont de la première primaire à la 4e secondaire.